Book Review: The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching

Overall Rating: 3.00/5.00
Do I recommend: Yes

I downloaded this book on a whim, as it was one of the free books in the Itunes store and I like to read on my iPad occasionally. I read through most of it very quickly, and then set it aside for quite a while, even though I only had a couple of chapters left. I tend to do that with a lot of books, so that isn’t really a bad sign or anything. However, that does mean that it didn’t have my full attention.

I viewed this book as a really easy read. I’m not sure if it’s in the “young adult” section or not, it probably is, but to me it seems to be along those lines. I’m totally fine with that! I enjoyed the story, though I do think it was a bit simple. I love that the story takes figures from religion such as angels and fallen angels and mixes them with fantasy elements and fighting. Though the good versus evil is not an original concept by a long shot, I did appreciate that this book used the theme with characters that were interesting and a cross between fantasy and religion.

I can see the book is clearly trying to make some points about religion; those were not lost on me and I think the messages would be very beneficial to young adults who read the book. The book is easy to follow, simple, written in a normal diction, and doesn’t have any glaring faults that I can see. You may consider simple as a fault, but like I said, I think this is supposed to be a young adult novel. I appreciate that it is easy to follow, because sometimes I just want a simple read. (That’s exactly what I had in mind when I read Twilight, but Twilight just failed in huge ways that this book did not).

The plot elements and characters intrigued me and I love religious mysticism. However, the book in no way tries to shove religion in the reader’s face, so that’s another strong point. The characters are interesting, and I think many of us (especially younger readers) can relate to the main character of Jacob, who struggles to fit in.

This review isn’t as specific as I’d like it to be, but I read it quite a while ago and just finally finished it up last night. Anyway, if you like fantasy, religion, and good old-fashioned good versus evil conflicts (and don’t mind reading a young adult novel), then give this one a shot.

This book is the first in the trilogy. The other two books weren’t free for download, but I am considering buying them.

(note: This review was previously published on my old blog, Ethereal Waters, which I am now in the process of taking down. I want to fully move to this blog!)

Leave a Reply

